This is the "Core Medical Apps" page of the "Medical Applications Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Medical Applications Guide   Tags: android, ios, ipad, iphone, ipod_touch, medical_apps  

This is a brief guide of medical applications for Georgetown University Medical Center and School of Nursing and Health Studies
Last Updated: May 21, 2013 URL: http://researchguides.dml.georgetown.edu/med-apps Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Core Medical Apps Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Core Apps [Native]

Epocrates Icon Epocrates Essentials
Click above link for installation instructions (NetID and password required). Institutional Subscription paid for by Dahlgren Memorial Library.
Apple IconFree Epocrates Rx from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconFree Epocrates Rx from Google Play.
First Consult App Icon First Consult
Point-of-care app that has evidence-based information about diagnosis, treatment, prevention, on many disorders and medical topics. Free personal account required to load on your handheld. Institutional Subscription paid for by Dahlgren Memorial Library.
Access notes:
Apple IconFree from the iTunes App Store
Micromedex Logo

Micromedex Drug Information and Drug Interactions
Access basic information on over 4,500 drugs. Browse by Drug name or class. Institutional Subscription paid for by Dahlgren Memorial Library.
Drug Information Access notes:
Apple IconFree from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconFree from Google Play.
Drug Interactions Access notes:
Apple IconFree from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconFree from Google Play.
You will need to enter a code to activate the content. Get the code here (NetID Required).

Skyscape Icon Skyscape Medical Resources
Skyscape offers Outlines in Clinical Medicine®, Archimedes™ - Medical Calculator, RxDrugs™: Drug Dosing Tool and MedAlert™ for free with the download of the mobile reader.
Access notes:
Apple IconFree from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconFree from Google Play.
DynaMed Logo DynaMed
DynaMed is a clinical reference tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the 'point-of-care.' Institutional Subscription paid for by Dahlgren Memorial Library.
Click here for installation instructions.
Natural Standard Logo Natural Standard
Complementary and alternative medicine database that is available within the Skyscape App (required; download link above). Follow the below link and provide your name and Georgetown email address. You will receive a serial number via email to install Natural Standard within the Skyscape App. If you want Natural Standard on multiple devices, please email dmlreference@georgetown.edu for additional codes.
Institutional Subscription paid for by Dahlgren Memorial Library.
Access notes:
Free from the Skyscape Site.
Medical Letter Icon The Medical Letter
The Medical Letter publishes critical appraisals of new prescription drugs and comparative reviews of previously approved drugs in its newsletters The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics and Treatment Guidelines from The Medical Letter. Click the above link for installation instructions.
Institutional Subscription paid for by Dahlgren Memorial Library.
Access notes:
Apple IconFree from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconFree from Google Play.
EBSCOhost Icon EBSCOhost
Search CINAHL other EBSCOhost databases with this app. Open an EBSCOhost database on your computer and scroll to the bottom of the page. Click on the link: "EBSCOhost iPhone/iPod Touch Application." In the pop-up, enter your email address to receive code and installation instructions. Institutional Subscription paid for by Dahlgren Memorial Library.
Access notes:
Apple IconFree from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconFree from Google Play.
Nursing Consult Nursing Consult
Free account required. Click above link for instrutctions. Institutional Subscription paid for by Dahlgren Memorial Library.
Access notes:
Apple IconFree from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconFree from Google Play.
Nursing Reference Center Icon Nursing Reference Center
Search or browse Quick Lessons, Drug Monographs, Evidence-Based Care Sheets, and more. Open NRC on your computer and scroll to the bottom of the page. Click on the link: "NRC iPhone/iPod Touch Application." In the pop-up, enter your email address to receive code and installation instructions. You need to open the email using your device's native Mail app (HoyaMail will not work). Institutional Subscription paid for by Dahlgren Memorial Library.
Apple IconAccess notes: Free from the iTunes App Store.
uCentral App uCentral
Click the above link for installation instructions. Includes: 5-Minute Clinical Consult, Diagnosaurus, Harrison’s Manual of Medicine, Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary, and more! Institutional Subscription paid for by Dahlgren Memorial Library.
Access notes:
Apple IconFree from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconFree from Google Play.
ePSS Icon AHRQ ePSS
ePSS is an application designed to help primary care clinicians identify the screening, counseling, and preventive medication services that are appropriate for their patients.
Access notes:
Apple IconFree from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconFree from Google Play.
ATP3 iPhone App Icon ATP3 Lipids Cholesterol Management
This app follows the guidelines of the ATP III, the third report on detection, evaluation, and treatment of high blood cholesterol in adults.
Access notes:
Apple IconPurchase from the iTunes App Store.
Shots App Icon Shots by STFM
Shots is a quick reference guide to the 2011 Childhood, Adolescent, and Adult Immunization Schedules. It also includes catch-up schedules.
Access notes:
Apple IconFree from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconFree from Google Play.
ScienceDirect Icon

ScienceDirect
Institutional Subscription paid for by Dahlgren Memorial Library.
Access notes:
Apple IconFree from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconFree from Google Play.

STAT!Ref Icon STAT!Ref
Free personal account required to activate the content. Click the above STAT!Ref link to create the account ("Your Preferences"). Institutional Subscription paid for by Dahlgren Memorial Library.
Access notes:
Apple IconFree from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconFree from Google Play.
AF Guide Icon AF Guide:
Access notes:
Apple IconFree from the iTunes App Store.
ECG Apps: Choose One
ECG Interpreter Icon ECG Interpreter
Access notes:
Apple IconPurchase from the iTunes App Store.
ECG Guide icon ECG Guide
Access notes:
Apple IconPurchase from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconPurchase from Google Play.
Instant ECG Icon Instant ECG
Access notes:
Apple IconPurchase from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconPurchase from Google Play.
 

Core Apps [Web]: These require WiFi or Data Plan

Mobile AccessMedicine AccessMedicine
Browse and search Harrison's Online, CURRENT Medical Diagnosis and Treatment 2011, Picture Galleries from Firzpatrick's Color Atlas and Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology, 6th ed. and more! On campus: no account required. Here is how to set up mobile access for off-campus users:
  • Go to AccessMedicine
  • Click on “My AccessMedicine” link
  • Within the new window, click "Create Profile"
  • Fill out the form to create an account
  • You will need to log in to your account to access AccessMedince on your mobile device.
Institutional Subscription by Georgetown University
Essential Evidence Plus Essential Evidence Plus
Browse and search for evidence based information and point-of-care tools on their mobile-friendly site. On campus users: no account required. Here is how to set up mobile access for off-campus access:
  • Go to EE+ homepage
  • Click on “My Account” tab
  • Within the big box that says “Access Personal Profile,” click "Register"
  • Fill out the form to create an account
  • You will need to log in to your account to access EE+ from off-campus.
Institutional Subscription by Georgetown University
Mobile EBSCOhost CINAHL [Mobile]
The mobile version of CINAHL allows you to search with keywords, limit searches, view abstracts and PDFs, link out to other full text options, and email your results.
Institutional Subscription by Georgetown University
JAMAevidence JAMAevidence
On campus: no account required. Off-campus: Free Account Required. Steps to create the account:
  • Go to JAMAevidence
  • Click on My JAMAevidence link, in the top right corner
  • Click "Create Profile"
  • Fill out the form
  • You will need to log in to this account on your mobile device when off-campus.
Institutional Subscription by Georgetown University
MobileMicromedex

Micromedex Mobile
NetID and password required. Comprehensive drug information. Search by drug or disease; find information for CAM, toxicology, and drug interactions.
Follow links to Micromedex 2.0 and it will automatically use the mobile interface.

Institutional Subscription by Georgetown University

Mobile MD Consult Mobile MD Consult
Browse Quick Reference Content by Topic/Disorder; search through the MD Consult content, including eBooks, Practice Guidelines, The Clinics, and Journals; email citations to yourself or share links with colleagues. On campus: no account required. Here is how to set up mobile access for off-campus users:
  1. Go to MD Consult (NetID and Password required from off-campus).
  2. On the MD consult home page, click on the link for "Create Account" in the top right corner and follow the instructions. (Be sure to log off on your computer before you open MD Consult on your mobile device)
  3. Then, on your device's Web browser, open up http://www.mdconsult.com
  4. Login with your user name and password
  5. Bookmark or Add to Home Screen for Quick Access

Institutional Subscription by Georgetown University

Screenshot of PubMed for Handhelds PubMed for Handhelds
PubMed MEDLINE with a handheld-friendly interface and special PICO search.
Access notes: Free Web Resource
PubMed Mobile (Beta) PubMed Mobile (Beta)
PubMed MEDLINE with a handheld-friendly interface
Access notes: Free Web Resource
Shots Online Shots Online
Quick reference guide to the Childhood and Adolescent Immunization Schedules.
Access notes: Free Web Resource
Mobile STAT!Ref STAT!Ref
Provides searchable access to STAT!Ref's eBooks with a mobile-friendly interface.
Access notes: Free Web Resource

Suggestions?

Hey Georgetown University Community! Do you have a favorite app and want to share? Click the below link to pass it along.

 

Featured Mobile App

Journal Club Icon Journal Club
This app provides up-to-date summaries on major clinical trials. Wiki Journal Club was created by Dr. Tim Plante (Current Internal Medicine Resident at Georgetown University Hospital) and Dr. Dave Iberri (Current Internal Resident at Standford University Hospital and Alumni of Georgetown University).
Access notes:
Apple IconPurchase from the iTunes App Store.
Android IconPurchase from Google Play.

Get Help

Profile Image
DML Reference
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Logo - AIMLogo - Google TalkLogo - MSNLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
Dahlgren Memorial Library
3900 Reservoir Rd, NW
Washington, DC 20057
202.687.1448
Send Email
 

QR Code

qrcode

What is this?
It's a QR (Quick Response) Code. These two-dimensional codes have embedded information, such as URLs, contact or event information, which can be read with many smartphone cameras. There are many QR Code apps available in the store.

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip